Band Bio
Tour Dates
Set Lists
Home Page

The Donna Jean Godchaux Band with Jeff Mattson is proud to announce the release of our deBut album, Back Around, on February 18th 2014

It's Muscle Shoals meets San Francisco, recorded at the Nutthouse Recording Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL and features some legendary local musicians, including the Muscle Shoals Horns!

Donna Jean Godchaux Band with Jeff Mattson Tracks:
  1. Don’t Ask Me Why Lyrics
    (Donna Jean Godchaux)
  2. Back Around Lyrics
    (Jeff Mattson/Donna Jean Godchaux)
  3. 19th Nervous Breakdown Lyrics
    (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards)
  4. Don’t Fight It Lyrics
    (Steve Cropper/Wilson Pickett)
  5. Darkness Darkness Lyrics
    (Jesse Colin Young)
  6. Delta Jubilee Lyrics
    (Donna Jean Godchaux/Jeff Mattson)
  7. She Said She Said Lyrics
    (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
  8. Crazy Fingers Lyrics
    (Jerry Garcia/Robert Hunter)
  9. Stranger Things Lyrics
    (Dave Diamond/Donna Jean Godchaux)
BACK AROUND, on Heart of Gold Records, will be available on iTunes, CD Baby,, and And we are real proud of the album art by Joshua Marc Levy's Asheville Art Family. If you are in the area come on over to the Ritz Theatre in Sheffield, AL for our CD Release Party on March 11th!
Donna Jean Godchaux, David MacKay, Jeff Mattson, Jimmy Nutt
Jimmy Nutt, Nutthouse Studio, Sheffield, AL (
Mastered by
Jim DeMain, YES Master Studio, Nashville, TN (
Cover Artwork
© 2013 Joshua Marc Levy, 423 & Asheville Art Family (
The Band:
Donna Jean Godchaux: vocals
Jeff Mattson: guitars, vocals on tracks 3,7 (
David MacKay: bass guitars
Joe Chirco: drums on tracks 1,4
Freeman White: keyboards
Peter Lavezzoli: drums and percussion on tracks 2,3,5-9 (
Mark Adler: Wurly on tracks 1,4

Blue Mountain Artists

The “More the Merrier” Players:
Will McFarlane
: guitar tracks 1,3,4,6,9 (
Clint Bailey: organ track 1, clavinet track 6
Jimmy Nutt: percussion
Richard Bailey: banjo tracks 6,8

Background vocals:
Donna Jean
(tracks 1,2,3,7,8,9)
Cindy Walker and Marie Lewey (tracks 1,4,6)
Gary Nichols (tracks 6,7)
Will McFarlane (tracks 4,8,9)

The Muscle Shoals Horns (
Charles Rose: trombone, horn arrangements
Harvey Thompson: sax
Jim Horn: baritone sax, flute (
Steve Herman: trumpet
Special Thanks to:

Jack Barton, Joe Cochran percussion instruments, Dark Star Orchestra, Mannon and Lois Glass, Delta Godchaux, Zion Godchaux, Kelvin Holly, Michael Ivey, Jimmy Johnson, Peter and Mona Kliegman, Laura Lamontanaro, Leak, Kinsman MacKay, Randi Mattson, Ed, Donna and Mark Mattson, Russell Mefford, David O’Reilly, Angi Nutt, Jordan Nutt, Breanne Petitpas, Lane and Gail Sutherland, Steve Traietta, and the “Singing River.”

Jeff Mattson uses D’Addario guitar strings and used a Sarno Music Solutions Earth Drive Pedal on this album.

Join the Donna Jean Godchaux Band email list

Content copyright 2009. Donna Jean Godchaux Band. All rights reserved
Website designed by David O'Reilly